I don’t know how this happened.

I’m running a half marathon on Sunday.  It’s been on the cards for a while, but I only entered last week so that’s when it started to feel real.

After I finished Melbourne last year I was excited about running fast, and I didn’t care about running long. I definitely didn’t have any plans to run another half. My longest run from November through until April was probably 12km, but when track season finished I felt ready to start increasing the distance again. My first decent long run was 18km when I was working in Emerald, because I had the day off and there’s not much else to do in a small Central Queensland mining town! I figured I could essentially write myself off and sit on the couch for the rest of the day anyway. I know most training plans say to avoid big jumps in mileage like this, but I’ve been running for long enough have a bit of an idea what my body can handle.

So I got back to 18km pretty quickly and managed to do consistent, weekly long runs in this ball park since. This made me start to think that running a half and running it a bit quickly was definitely possible. Before Melbourne I hit 24km twice but I was fairly inconsistent the rest of the time, so I decided to do things a bit differently this time. More long runs, but not quite so long.

I’ve also made a big effort to have a weekly tempo/parkrun/cross country effort, and I’ve raced a couple longer events (like City2South). I’ve focused much less on interval training, only doing a session once a fortnight on average. I’m not at all concerned about the lack of proper speed work, because I’ve done enough work at (or slightly quicker) than my predicted pace. I’m going to actually race it this time! I know I can make it through the distance so I’m going to be sensible but I also want to see how long I can make it hurt.

I’m also going to tackle my nutrition a little bit differently. I don’t think I ate enough before my last one, and I only managed to get down about half a gel because it made me gag. I’ve got a new breakfast strategy this time, and I plan on using 2 gels. I’ve figured out that I can handle gels a lot better if I sip them, rather than trying to gulp it all down at once. Sure it means running along with a gel in my hand for a km or more, but it’s a small price to pay!

Jetty2Jetty. Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

