I am glo’ing

I recently came across YogaGlo, and it has been exactly what I needed! When I injured my calf I realised how tight my entire body had become. It’s really easy to just run, and I had let all other forms of training slide. Yogaglo is essentially a collection of hundreds of different yoga classes, with a subscription fee of $18 per month. Having yoga classes at my fingertips any time of the day really appeals to me, and the cost is very reasonable.

Screen Shot 2013-06-15 at 9.37.12 PM

The search and filter options make it really easy to choose a class. They can be narrowed down by level, duration, teacher, style, specific use. There are even classes specifically for runners – win! I’m trying out different teachers and styles, but so far I’m really enjoying Tiffany Cruikshank‘s vinyasa flow classes. She can do some pretty amazing moves, but I mainly like her personality and that she explains things in a very practical way. She has a good understanding of anatomy, and I am a very literal person so I like to know exactly what each of my muscles should be doing.

Screen Shot 2013-06-14 at 4.40.31 PM
Screen shot from one of Tiffany’s classes

Some days I crave a simple yin class (where you sit in poses for extended periods, and it’s more about relaxing into the stretch) to let my muscles recover from a tough run, other days I want a more active class (like vinyasa flow). I actually find yin classes really difficult – I struggle to sit still at the best of times!

The biggest benefit for me has been that when I’m at home I don’t have anyone else to compare myself too. I’m a very competitive person, but I’ve realised that yoga is not always about pushing to those absolute limits, sometimes it’s about being gentle with your body.

I can practice anywhere, even if it means having a cat on my belly!
I can practice anywhere, even if it means having a cat on my belly! (savasana at mum’s house)

I think I can finally say I’m a runner, and a yogi.

One thought on “I am glo’ing

  1. YogaGlo has some really great classes. I haven’t logged on there in a while but now I want to check out Tiffany’s class! Yoga classes in the studio can be hard sometimes for exactly that reason – the comparison. It’s hard sometimes but I’m finally starting to get better about not looking around during class 🙂

Leave a Reply

