Scenic Sundays

I tried something new today. I went on a training run with a group! Now, that doesn’t sound like a new idea (especially seeing that I do intervals and track work with other people all the time), but I think this was the first time I’ve gone out for long(ish) slow run with other people.

We met the Brisbane Trail Runners at Mount Glorious bright and early. I wasn’t quite so bright, but it sure was early! Mount Glorious is about 40km from Brisbane, along a very windy (not blowy) road. By the time we were halfway there I was starting to feel a bit carsick, as was the girl sitting next to me in the car. We managed to arrive at the meeting point with no mishaps, and just in time to start running. My stomach settled down pretty quickly but the other girl wasn’t quite so lucky.

14 runners, all different paces. We spread out pretty quickly, but there was always someone else in view. It was a great little group, no one was in a great hurry so we’d stop at trail intersections to wait for other runners and to make sure no one was lost. I have to say, I was relieved to have the short rest breaks every now and again! I’ve been pretty slack with long runs since Melbourne (it’s a fast summer!)…

Photo credit to Brisbane Trail Runners on Facebook

We ran about out to a lookout and back, then headed over the road to finish the run on different trails. 12km all up. 12km of awesome single track through a rainforest – the kind of trail where you need to watch your footing the entire time. None of this fire trail business out here. I know for the purists out there – 12km isn’t really a long run. But for me, for this summer, this is my upper limit and I’m stoked about the idea! Short and fast FTW.

Photo credit to Brisbane Trail Runners on Facebook

There were a few minor dramas (rolled ankles, someone got lost briefly, my fellow car sick passenger only ran the first section because she was still feeling off, and there were more rolled ankles). No one is still out there wandering around (I hope!) and everyone was still walking at the end of it.

And of course, then there was breakfast. With about a hundred motorbike riders.

I have now decided that my perfect post run meal is salty avocado on toast with a chocolate milkshake. Just thinking about it makes me want to eat the same meal every day for the rest of my life. Mmmmm avo…

4 thoughts on “Scenic Sundays

  1. Group runs are pretty awesome! πŸ™‚ I love the comradery and conversations you get to have. πŸ™‚ My “serious” runs are always solo, but the easy or long runs, I always would rather do with a group! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

