Getting to know you: My weekend

I don't normally talk about my regular life, because it would go something like this: got up, went to work, went for a run, ate dinner, browsed the Internet, went to bed. Plus I'm too lazy to photograph everything (and I always forget). I thought I'd mix it up a bit over the weekend, and give you a glimpse of my life! This wasn't exactly a typical weekend, because J was at work, but it's fairly standard for what I'd normally get up to.

Saturday:

On Saturday morning I ran a fun run. I loved my outfit for the morning: neon pink and green!! It was a pretty rushed morning, because I needed to get back for a hair appointment.

Ready to race
In desperate need of a cut!

I love the result of getting my hair done, but I hate how long it takes. I normally don't book for a saturday but because I've been working out of town again I haven't had any other opportunity to get it done. I always find the conversation awkward, but I'm not rude enough to just sit there and read a mag while they're putting the colour on!

My hair is now more blonde than it's been in a long time, and I'm not sure if I like it! I guess I need to get used to it again.

Once I left the hairdresser I headed to Carindale to grab lunch – delicious sushi! Ginga has ruined sushi for me – I always get disappointed when I go anywhere else. They do the most amazing salmon and avocado nigiri, with thinly sliced red onion and a slice of lemon on the side. Amazing!

I am a sucker for sportswear (in case you couldn't tell), but I avoided temptation and didn't go into any of the multiple sports shops! I had more important things to do, I had to go home and pretty myself up for date night.

Sorry, but I didn't take any photos on our date – I was a bit distracted by my handsome husband πŸ˜‰ oh, and by the great French food.

Sunday:

It was time for another long run.

21 fairly ordinary kilometers ticked off the list. I slowed down a little bit after 16km, I don't know if this was because of lack of endurance? Or the half bottle of wine the night before? Or just because I was hungry. I was definitely looking forward to a chocolate milk at the end…

Still alive

Lunch was spent at yum cha with friends.

When I got there they had already gotten a little bit of food, but we hit a trolley dry spell pretty quickly. We go to yum cha together all the time, and we all have specific dumplings that excite us. After waving a couple uninteresting trolleys on, we suddenly hit the jackpot and got a whole heap of steam baskets all at once. Then, of course, we finished with mango pancakes. No yum cha session is complete without these parcels of creamy mango goodness!

Even though I'd already run, I decided to walk home from the Valley. Sometimes I forget how pretty Brisbane is, but walks like this remind me how lucky we are to live here.

At home I did the boring stuff – washing, packing etc. I'm the least house-wifey person ever, but sometimes I like to pretend that we don't live in squalor.

In the afternoon I went to Bikram. I think going on a Sunday afternoon is my favourite class – it's the perfect way to finish the weekend, and to start the new week!

Yoga checklist: mat, towel, water

And that was about it for the weekend. Oh, apart from the usual Sunday night dinner with my family!

 

2 thoughts on “Getting to know you: My weekend

Leave a Reply

