Twilight Running Festival 2012

This post is about a week and a half late!

On Sunday the 18th of March I raced in the Twilight Running Festival at UQ (named after the time of day, not the vampire saga)

There is a half marathon, a 10km and a 3km race. I’ve now run the 10km twice, and the 3km twice. I prefer the 3km for a few reasons – I like shorter races, it starts a little bit later (so it’s not as hot) and it’s a completely flat course.

The 10km has a few turn arounds, and goes over the Green Bridge so it’s got a couple short hills.

University of Queensland
University of Queensland (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

All of the events finish on the athletics track – always good fun!

The event has grown a lot – this is the 4th year they’ve run it, and I think it was the best one yet! There’s always going to be teething problems with events (last year they had issues with the timing, and they couldn’t finish on the athletics track because of the January floods) but it seemed really smooth this time around.

I was feeling very confident, and was hoping to go sub-12. I failed! My official time was 12:09. I think I ran a very controlled race, I just wasn’t as fast as I thought I’d be. I ended up 16th overall (I think) and 2nd in my category.

This is the only photo where I don’t quite look like a gigantic pear… And it’s poor quality.

On monday I started to feel unwell with a cold so that might explain why I wasn’t as fast as I’d hoped. There’ll always be another race!

2 thoughts on “Twilight Running Festival 2012

Leave a Reply

